The goodbye card has been passed along, everyone’s said their farewells, fond memories (and cake) were shared. You’ve now got the final task to do for a leaving employee: removing all their accounts from your company.

Whether it’s a fond farewell or a rough ousting, deleting a user from an account once an employee leaves is a vital task. If you’re an admin on the account, or someone in a role that has the ability to add/delete users, here's how to do that last step.

IMPORTANT FIRST STEP: E-signatures need to attach to a user/contact to be binding. To delete this user, you’ll need to back-up and delete any won proposals that contain that user’s signature. Click here for instructions on how to save your proposal to PDF. We don’t currently have a way to do this in one quick step, so you'll need to back these up one-by-one. 

When you’ve removed this user's signed proposals, the rest is easy. First, navigate to your users page by clicking “users” from the left-hand menu:

From there, hover your mouse over the user you want gone, then select “delete”:

If this user has any active proposals assigned to them, a pop-up will appear so you can assign them to someone else: 

Select the user that will be taking over these proposals. From there, click “reassign proposals”.

If this user doesn’t have any active proposals, then you’ll go straight to the last pop-up. This one asks you to confirm your decision to remove this user:

IMPORTANT NOTE: Once you delete the user, it is VERY hard for our engineers to recover them. Kind of like trying to uncrumple paper. Please be absolutely sure you want this user gone before clicking the red “yes, delete” button.

That’s it! We’ll delete this user and they’ll no longer have access to your account. If you’re on a per-seat plan and are removing users to cut down subscription costs, there’s one final step. Click here to learn how to remove seats from your plan.

Did this answer your question?