If you’re a member of a large team, you know it can be difficult to coordinate how your team uses your content. Roles and Permissions helps you limit access to content and features among different roles in your organization. We have quite a few settings to allow you to choose exactly what to allow your roles to access. This article will go over each setting.

HEADS UP: Roles and Permissions is a feature available to Business plans. Speak to a sales rep if this feature looks useful to you.

Here's a breakdown of what this article covers:

Access Roles Settings

There are two ways to access your roles settings: 

From the Users page:

If you’re adding and updating users, you can edit and add roles from the Users page. Select roles and permissions, located above the users list: 

The roles panel will appear on the right. From here, select a role to edit or select new role to create a new one.

Don't see the button? This is an admin only feature. If you don't see the correct option, talk to your team lead or account owner to see if you have access.

From Account Settings

You can find the roles settings page in Account Settings.

You can reach the account settings by clicking settings found in the navigation menu:

From there, select roles:

This will take you to the Roles & Permissions page.

To edit an existing role, select that role. To create a new role, select add role:

Roles Settings - Breakdown

Here's a breakdown of all of the settings available:

Role Name

This sets a name for this particular role (Sales, Account Manager, Worthless Peon, etc). It’s a good idea to name it based on the position of the team member using this role.

General Permissions

Here is where you can set permissions for non-proposal-related things in Proposify.

Edit account settings

Edit Account Settings

Enable each option to give the role access to pages found in Account Settings and Integrations. If given access, the roll can make changes to those settings.

Add/edit/delete streams

Enable this option to give this role access to create and manage streams in your Pipeline.

View Metrics

Limits what the role can view in Metrics.

View Clients

Limits the client list that this role can view. Enable add/edit/delete clients to give the role the ability to add clients.

View Users

Limits the users that the role can view. Enable add/edit/delete users to give the role the ability to add users.

Enable Purchase seats to allow this role to add a seat to your plan if there are none available when adding a user.

Content Library Permissions

Content Library Permissions set what the role can view and edit within your Content Library. These settings will also take effect in the Editor when importing or saving content.

View Content

Sets default view permissions for this role. Can they see all content in the account, or only content assigned to their workspace. You can set this on a granular level as well.

Add/edit/delete sections

Sets permission for this role to create, make changes to, or remove a section.

Add/edit/delete fees

Sets permission for this role to create, make changes to, or remove a Fee Library fee.

Add/edit/delete snippets

Sets permission for this role to create, make changes to, or remove a snippet in the Snippet Library.

Add/edit/delete images

Sets permission for this role to create, make changes to, or remove an image in the Image Library.

Add/edit/delete folders

Sets permission for this role to create, make changes to, or remove a folder in the Content Library.

Template Permissions

Template permissions lets you set the ability to add, change or remove templates. You can also choose what templates this role can see.

View Content

Choose what templates this role will be able to view by default. You can set this on a granular level as well.

Add/edit/delete templates

Sets permission for this user to create, make changes to, or remove a template in your Template Library.

Add/edit/delete folders

Sets permission for this role to create, make changes to, or remove a folder in the Template Library.

Document Permissions

These options allow you to set what features are available to this role when they're working on a document.

 

View documents

Sets view limitations for this role. View all sales documents in the account, ones assigned to their workspace, or only ones assigned to the user.

Assign documents

Sets permission for this role to assign documents to other users.

Sign documents

Sets permission for this role to be able to fill signature boxes in a document.

Edit document design

Sets permission for this role to edit documents, including adding/moving shapes text boxes and images.

Lock/unlock element

Sets permission for this role to lock or unlock elements in the document.

Delete documents

Sets permission for this role to delete sales documents.

Void won/lost documents

Sets permission for this role to be able to make edits to documents in Won or Lost state, rendering them void.

Use integrations.

Sets permission for this role to use integrations for a document, including generating invoices or linking to an opportunity. If the role is denied, then the default integration settings will be applied automatically.

Delete user comments

Sets permission for this role to delete comments by users in this account. You can choose whether they can delete all comments, only for documents in their workspace, or only their own documents.

Delete client comments

Sets permission for this role to delete comments by prospects.

Send Permissions

Send Permissions

Edit preview settings

Sets permission to allow this role to edit Client Preview settings.

Send reminders

Sets permission for this role to send reminders to a prospect.

Requires approval before sending documents

Activates approval workflow for this role. Click here to learn more about approval workflow.

Approval Settings

Approving roles

Selects the approving role if the previous option is enabled. enable the or toggle next to the row to choose a secondary role.

Document Value

Sets a value limit for when approval workflow is triggered.

In the above image, users assigned to this role can send documents with a value of up to $9,999.99 without requiring approval. A penny more and they’ll need approval from an admin or team lead.

Watermark unapproved documents

Enable this option to apply a “Draft” watermark on documents pending approval.

Allow users to cancel approval requests

Enable this option to allow the role to make edits to documents that are pending approval or have been approved. If cleared, the role will be unable to make edits once approved.

Allow users to edit documents after sending

Enable this option to allow the role to make edits to a document sent to your prospect.

Looking to assign your newly role to a particular user? Click here.

Did this answer your question?