If you’re a member of a large team, you know it can be difficult to coordinate how your team uses your content.  We make it easy for you to tweak each user’s view and edit access , so you can focus on your content and keep your team from "going rogue".

While this will allow you to tweak your proposal’s settings. This won’t separate your roles from each other. If you’re looking for that feature, you can use our Workspaces feature instead. Click here to learn more about Workspaces.

Here's a breakdown of what this article covers:

Access Roles Settings

There are two ways to access your roles settings: 

From the Users page:

If you’re adding and updating users, you can edit and add roles from the Users page. Select roles and permissions, located above the users list: 

The roles panel will appear on the right. From here, select a role to edit or select new role to create a new one.

Don't see the button? This is an admin only feature. If you don't see the correct option, talk to your team lead or account owner to see if you have access.

From Account Settings

You can find the roles settings page in Account Settings.

You can reach the account settings by clicking settings found in the navigation menu:

From there, select roles:

This will take you to the Roles & Permissions page.

To edit an existing role, select that role. To create a new role, select add role:

Roles Settings - Breakdown

Here's a breakdown of all of the settings available:

Role Name

This sets a name for this particular role (Sales, Account Manager, Worthless Peon, etc). It’s a good idea to name it based on the position of the team member using this role.

General Permissions

Here is where you can set permissions for non-proposal-related things in Proposify.

Edit account settings

This allows you to choose exactly what account settings you would like this role to be able to tweak.

Let's say, for example, you're setting a role for someone in design. They would need access to the font library and email templates. They most likely wouldn't need access to integrations, though.

You can also disable everything if you would rather the role not have access to these settings at all.

Add/edit/delete streams

This allows users the ability to add, edit or delete Streams. Streams are the sub-folders located at the top of your pipeline. When you clear this option, your users will still be able to use streams. They won't be able to rename, move, add or delete any streams, though.Streams

View metrics

View metrics allows you to decide what metrics your users will have access to. Would you like to save your company's performance for the all-hands? Set your users to view only their workspace's metrics and they'll only be able to see how their team is doing.

View clients

You can set your roles to only be able to view their workspace's clients. This is great if you like to keep your sales teams separate and dole out leads on a more personal level.. You can also choose whether the users in this role will have the ability to add, edit and delete clients.

Manage users

The same goes for Users. If you want to keep your teams totally separate, set the role to view only users sharing the same workspace. 

You can also prevent people from adding more seats to your account without your approval.

Content Library Permissions

This menu lets you set what your team can add, edit, and remove from the content library. It also lets you choose what content in the library they are able to see.

 

View content

Here, you can choose what your team member can see: all content, or only what's assigned to their workspace. This is great for teams with similar content, but with slight changes depending on location.

Add/edit/delete content

Each option allows you to set whether the role is able to add, edit, and delete content in the content library. If you clear any of these options, the corresponding tab in the content library won't be viewable.

Template Permissions

Template permissions lets you set the ability to add, change or remove templates. You can also choose what templates this role can see.

Proposal Permissions

These options allow you to set what features are available to this role when they're working on a proposal.

 

View permissions

This sets what proposals will this role can see: everything, those assigned to their workspace, or their own. This is great if you'd like your teams to keep their sales pipelines separate.

Edit permissions

These options allow you to tweak what the user assigned to this Role will be able to do with their proposals. You can choose whether this user can:

  • Assign proposals to others.
  • Sign proposals under their name.
  • Tweak or customize the proposal itself.
  • Delete or remove proposals.
  • Restore a won proposal to make edits (and void all signatures).
  • Link the proposal to a deal or opportunity in an integration.

Commenting permissions

These options allow you to choose which comments this role can delete, and where they can delete them.

Send Permissions

This permission set allows you to limit what your user can do before and after they send the proposal.

Requiring approval

This option allows you to choose if a proposal needs approval by someone before sending it to a client. Once this option is enabled, select your approving role from the dropdown below. 

You can also choose a secondary approving role by enabling the or toggle. 

If you would like to avoid this role submitting a PDF of an unapproved document to your prospect, select watermark unapproved proposals. This will add a "DRAFT" watermark on every page of a PDF document downloaded by this role until it has been marked approved

 You can find out more about how this process works by clicking HERE.

Finally, you can choose whether this role can return the sales document to Drafts status. If you'd rather not have your rep be able to void a signature, disable void pending/approved proposals. If you'd rather not have them return their docs to draft at all, disable void sent/viewed proposals as well.

Edit preview settings

Edit Preview Settings lets you set if the role can change settings in the proposal's preview page.Client Preview Settings - Breakdown

Once your options are set, click the Save button at the bottom of the page to save your settings and your role is complete.

Looking to assign your newly role to a particular user? Click here.

Related Reading

Did this answer your question?