If you're a member of a large organization, then it may be a bit difficult to track and co-ordinate changes to proposals. Often, oversight may be difficult and it would be easier if certain users made the templates, and other users just created proposals and sent them, without worrying about changes made. We make it easy for you to tweak each user's role to allow you to set specifically what your team members can do in their account.

While this will allow you to tweak your proposal's settings. This won't separate your roles from each other. If you're looking for that feature, you can use our Workspaces feature instead. Click here to learn more about Workspaces.

Accessing the Roles Settings page

If you're an admin user, you can access the Roles settings page from the Account Settings menu: 

Once on that page, you have the option to edit an existing role or create a new one: 

To edit an existing role, simply click on it. To create a new role, click on the green "add role" button above the list:

Editing Roles

Once you've chosen to either edit an existing role or create a new one, you'll be taken to the Edit Role & Permissions page:

From here, you'll be able to set granular preferences for each activity you would like to provide or revoke access for this role. 

Role Name

This is a mandatory field that will help you set a name for this particular role (Sales, Account Manager, Worthless Peon, etc). It's recommended that you set each role's name based on the title of the person you would like to assign it to.

General Permissions

Here is where you can set permissions for the non proposal-related things that Proposify has to offer.

Edit Account Settings: 

This allows you to choose exactly what account settings you would like this role to be able to tweak. For example, if you're setting a role for your Design team, they would want access to the font library and email settings, but don't really need access to Workspace settings. You can also disable these features entirely if you would rather the role not have access to these settings at all.

Add/Edit/Delete Streams

This allows users the ability to add, edit or delete Streams (the sub-folders located at the top of your pipeline). If this option is un-checked, your users will still be able to use streams, but they won't be able to rename, move, add or delete any streams. 

View Metrics

View metrics allows you to decide what metrics your users will have access to. Would you like to keep your company's performance closer to the chest? Set your users to view only their workspace's metrics and they'll only be able to see how their team is doing.

View Clients / View Users

If you like to keep your sales teams separate and dole out leads on a more personal level, you can set your roles to only be able to view their workspace's clients. This keeps other teams' client lists out of view. You can also choose whether or not the users in this role will have the ability to add clients, or edit and delete existing ones.

The same goes for Users. If you would rather your different franchises not have the contact details for employees in other franchises, you can set your role to only view your current workspace's users. You can also prevent users from inviting new users, or editing/deleting existing ones.

Content Library Permissions

Content library permissions allow you to choose what your roles can add, edit, or remove from your content library; as well as choose what content in the library they are able to see.

View Content

You can choose to have your roles view all of the content in your content library, or only content assigned to the role's specific workspace. This is a great option if multiple franchises have the same sections, but with slight variations depending on their location.

Add/Edit/Delete Content

Each of these options allows you to set whether you would like the role to be able to add new content (either sections, fees, snippets or images) to the content library, or edit or remove content. If any of these options are removed, then the corresponding tab in the content library won't be viewable.

Template Permissions

Template permissions allows you to choose which role is able to add new templates, change or remove existing ones; as well as what templates your role can see. 

Important note about Add/Edit/Delete Templates
If you disable the ability to add, edit or delete templates, the user in this role will also not be able to duplicate proposals. This is done to prevent users from using those proposals as templates as a way to bypass this rule. 

Proposal Permissions

Proposal permissions allow you to set what kind of options are available to a user assigned to this role when they're working within a proposal.

View permissions

You can choose what proposals will be viewable by this role: all proposals, proposals assigned to teammates in their workspace, or just their own. This is great if you'd like your teams to keep their sales pipelines close to their chest. 

Edit Permissions

These options allows you to tweak what the user assigned to this Role will be able to do with their proposals. You can choose whether or not this user can assign proposals to others, sign proposals under their name, tweak or customize the proposal itself, delete or remove proposals, restore a won proposal to make edits (and void all signatures inside) or link the proposal to a deal or opportunity in an integration.

Commenting Permissions

These options allow you to choose which comments users under this role can delete, and where they can delete them. 

Send Permissions

The final set of permissions is based on setting rules for what your user can and cannot do before and after they send the proposal.

Requiring Approval

This option allows you to choose whether a proposal needs to be approved by a manager or admin before the proposal can be sent. You can find out more about how this process works by clicking HERE.

Edit Preview Settings

Edit Preview Settings allows you to choose whether the client can change settings within the proposal's Preview page. This will either enable or disable your user's ability to change the language of the proposal's buttons, password protect the proposal, as well as add or remove buttons and the total from the footer of the proposal.


Once your options are set, click the Save button at the bottom of the page to save your settings and your role is complete.

Looking to assign your newly role to a particular user? Click here.

Did this answer your question?